The Guardian Series: A Legacy of Leading Technology, Purpose-Built for the Future


Seagate is proud to announce its new series of highly engineered storage: The Guardian Series of internal drives. The launch of the series also aligns with the achievement of a key storage technology milestone: the introduction of high-performance 10TB-capacity drives across an entirely new product portfolio.

With decades of innovation now pointed directly at the future, our products are truly engineered and optimized for customers’ specific needs to preserve, access and maximize the value of their data. Seagate’s streamlined and simplified portfolio naming is inspired by the concept that “data is alive” and draws added inspiration from the elements around us — the land, sea, and air.

The Guardian Series is comprised of the BarraCuda line of personal compute and gaming drives (including the FireCuda combining flash with HDD), the IronWolf line of NAS and RAID drives, and the SkyHawk line of video security and surveillance drives.

Seagate’s new 10TB product brand names represent the next phase of the company’s corporate rebrand unveiled at CES in 2015, in which Seagate introduced our new “Living Logo” that visually captures the idea that data is most valuable when it is alive and in motion. The new Guardian Series names more directly link this living data concept to Seagate’s foundational technologies.

Of animals and elements

Why did we choose animals and elements to create the names of the new Guardian Series?

The names begin by bringing back the legacy of our hugely popular BarraCuda desktop drive. From there, we draw inspiration from the concepts of data being alive, and the elements around us enduring — and the animal guardians we selected match our products’ use cases in a very natural and fluid way: the power and tenacity of the wolf matched with the legacy of big iron; the vigilance and extraordinary perception of the hawk high in the sky, noticing the smallest movement below.

To wit:

BarraCuda – Compute and Gaming

BarraCuda desktop-driveBarraCuda represents the revival of a beloved and renowned brand name in the desktop and client markets. It evokes the sense of speed, accuracy and power that our new 10TB client products offer. The BarraCuda family also includes the new FireCuda solid-state hybrid drive.

IronWolf – NAS and RAID

IronWolf for NAS applications combines the characteristics of Iron — tough, strong, durable and reliable — with the characteristics of a Wolf — strategically minded predators that work together in packs.

SkyHawkVideo Security and Surveillance

SkyHawk for video security and surveillance applications evokes the notion of a hawk watching the vast expanse of the world around it from above in precise detail and ready for action.

Designed to respond to and better meet the needs of end users and our channel partners, The Guardian Series is also a massive simplification of several product lines, aimed at making products easier to find and more memorable for global end-users and partners alike. The consolidation of our product line into three main use-cases, each with its own unique identifier, will provide our partners with the clarity they need to recommend the appropriate products to their customers.

At Seagate, we are inspired by the beauty of life, and energized by the ever-increasing role that data plays in all that we accomplish and aspire to achieve. With the creation of The Guardian Series, we eagerly look forward to our customers engaging, creating, and storing with the BarraCuda, IronWolf, and SkyHawk in making the most of everything this world has to offer.


About the Author: